2017: Clean Air Is NOT King... Speed Is King

LewTheShoe

Seeking Skill-based Meritocracy... More HP Less DF
There have been many complaints here and elsewhere about the Cup races this year being spread out, not enough side by side racing, and saying this is because "clean air is king." I'm no aerodynamics expert, but I believe these complaints are completely wrong. The cars are more spread out as a by-product of putting the race back in the hands of the drivers and crew chiefs. IMO, the low downforce rules have been very effective in controlling the aero advantage held by the leader, and reducing the aero push that previously acted to prevent a faster car from passing.

The 2017 rules permit a *faster car* to pull up right behind the leading car, in the dirtiest of dirty air, without losing front traction and washing up the track. And then he passes, and pulls away... because he is faster. If he is slower, he falls back and the leader pulls away. Passing has never been easier, if you are the faster car... as proven at Atlanta, at Las Vegas, at Fontana. Speed is king, and it comes from a good car with a good set up and a good driver. (Passing remained very difficult at Phoenix... not due to aero IMO... Phoenix is always a hard place to pass due to the short straights and low banking.)

Racing is often closer under rules that create the "clean air is king" phenomena. When a slower car has the lead, due to pit stops or strategy or whatever reason, the faster cars stack up behind, unable to complete a pass. We are not seeing this aero effect in 2017, and that is why the cars are more spread out.