2017 Irish Road Racing Season

Discussion in 'Motorcycle Racing' started by Mr Excitement, Apr 21, 2017 at 2:06 AM.

  1. Mr Excitement

    Mr Excitement Team Owner

    The start of IRR season starts tomorrow at the legendary Tandragee 100.:D
    This will also be the first race for Guy Martin after his nasty crash at the UGP in 2015 and will be riding for factory Honda on the new Fireblade.:punkrocke


    Last edited: Apr 21, 2017 at 2:15 AM
  2. Mr Excitement

    Mr Excitement Team Owner


    57th Tandragee 100 – Derek Sheils Dominates Open/Senior Open Qualifying

    Defending Irish road race Superbike champion Derek Sheils dominated Open/Senior Open qualifying, at the 57th Tandragee 100, as he got his 2017 roads campaign underway in the best possible fashion.

    Propelling the Cookstown BE Racing GSX-R 1000 Suzuki to a lap time of 3 minutes point 737 seconds, he finished over four seconds quicker than nearest pursuer William Dunlop, who impressed hugely on the Superstock Mar Train Racing YZF R1M Yamaha.


    Derek McGee and Michael Sweeney third and fourth quickest both showed good form, same applied to Davy Morgan aboard the Bumblebee Barn backed ZX10R Kawasaki, finishing a fine fifth fastest in front of Noel Williamson Racing’s Alan Bonner, who lead the BMW Motorrad challenge.

    The top ten in qualifying was completed by Kevin Fitzpatrick, leading 600 mounted competitor Paul Jordan, Andy Farrell and Stephen McKnight.

    Guy Martin’s high profile return to Irish roads action, saw him finish a lowly 17th quickest.

    Qualifying times for the Open/Senior Open races, at the Around A Pound Tandragee 100, are as follows:

    1 Derek Sheils 3.00.737
    2 William Dunlop 3.04.737
    3 Derek McGee 3.05.102
    4 Michael Sweeney 3.05.632
    5 Davy Morgan 3.07.877
    6 Alan Bonner 3.08.477
    7 Kevin Fitzpatrick 3.12.245
    8 Paul Jordan 3.12.415
    9 Andy Farrell 3.13.286
    10 Stephen McKnight 3.13.587
    11 Michael Weldon 3.14.107
    12 Richard McLoughlin 3.14.317
    13 Seamus Elliott 3.14.318
    14 Adam McLean 3.14.907
    15 Damian Horan 3.14.922
    16 Frank Gallagher 3.15.083
    17 Guy Martin 3.15.670
    18 Graham Kennedy 3.15.689
    19 Gareth Evans 3.16.345
    20 Steve Tobin 3.17.090

    Words by Stevie Rial

  3. Mr Excitement

    Mr Excitement Team Owner

    William Dunlop starting on the front row.
    Pole winner Derek Shiels.
    Guy Martin trying to knock the rust off.
    Clutch likes this.
  4. Mr Excitement

    Mr Excitement Team Owner

    57th Tandragee 100: Mullingar Missile Secures Supersport Honours
    Living up to his nickname, the Mullingar Missile, Derek McGee stormed to victory in the Supersport race, at the 57th Tandragee 100.

    Piloting his own teams YZF R6 Yamaha, he finished the reduced five lap race 16 seconds clear of reigning Irish road race Supersport champion, William Dunlop.

    Open race winner Derek Sheils was third, prospective TT newcomer Paul Jordan aboard the Site Sealants B&W Racing Kawasaki sealed fourth, whilst one of the undoubted performances of the race came from fifth place finisher, Graham Kennedy.

    Completing the top six finishers was Welshman Paul Williams, whilst it was a case of experience and rising star quality behind in seventh and eighth, sealed respectively by Michael Weldon and Sean Connolly.

    Darryl Tweed and the evergreen Paul Cranston wrapped up the top ten, two times Junior Manx GP winner Michael Sweeney was the most high profile non finisher, having slipped off uninjured at Castle Corner.

    Full results from the Supersport race, at the Around A Pound Tandragee 100, are as follows:

    1 Derek McGee
    2 William Dunlop
    3 Derek Sheils
    4 Paul Jordan
    5 Graham Kennedy
    6 Paul Williams
    7 Michael Weldon
    8 Sean Connolly
    9 Darryl Tweed
    10 Paul Cranston
    11 Thomas Maxwell
    12 Rhys Hardisty
    13 Sam Johnson
    14 Steven Procter
    15 Gareth Evans
    16 James Chawke
    17 Callum Laidlaw
    18 Allan Brodie
    19 Steve Tobin

    Words by Stevie Rial
  5. Mr Excitement

    Mr Excitement Team Owner


    57th Tandragee 100: Derek Sheils Takes Commanding Open Race Victory

    Derek Sheils surged to open race success, at the 57th Tandragee 100, following a textbook world class display aboard the Cookstown BE Racing GSX-R 1000 Suzuki.

    Leading from the start, he ended the six lap race over 14 seconds clear of race runner up William Dunlop, who carried on his good form from qualifying with the Superstock spec Mar Train Racing YZF R1M Yamaha.
    Photo’s by Rod Neill

    Finalising the top three finishers was Derek McGee, whilst Michael Sweeney (Martin Jones Racing) lead the BMW challenge in fourth place, in front of Noel Williamson Racing’s Alan Bonner.

    Davy Morgan was a very creditable sixth, Shaun Anderson piloting his new GSX-R 1000 Suzuki mount finished seventh, Kevin Fitzpatrick impressed in securing eighth as Andy Farrell and Richard McLoughlin completed the top ten.

    Additional standout performances included Seamus Elliott on his return to real roads action, finishing 11th and Rigsby Racing’s Steven Procter recording a respectable top 16 finish.

    Drama a plenty was the best way to describe Guy Martin’s opening race outing in Honda Racing colours, having been involved in an incident on lap 1 at Marlacoo Corner with Paul Jordan, forcing him out of contention.

    57th Tandragee 100, Open race results, are as follows:

    1 Derek Sheils
    2 William Dunlop
    3 Derek McGee
    4 Michael Sweeney
    5 Alan Bonner
    6 Davy Morgan
    7 Shaun Anderson
    8 Kevin Fitzpatrick
    9 Andy Farrell
    10 Richard McLoughlin
    11 Seamus Elliott
    12 Damian Horan
    13 Gareth Evans
    14 Sean Connolly
    15 Darryl Tweed
    16 Steven Procter
    17 Rhys Hardisty
    18 Michal Dokoupil
    19 Allan Brodie
    20 Paul Cranston

    Words by Stevie Rial

    And these pics sum up Guy Martins race.

    No one was hurt and they talked about the crash over a cup of tea..:lol2:
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2017 at 9:33 PM

Share This Page