NASCAR Racing on Social Media

DIDIT

Old School Fan
Being an old timer I admit I am a social media novice. During the Michigan race I did not have access to the TV broadcast. Trying to keep up on social media was a pita for me. To start with I know I can listen on MRN, but that is not an option in my current situation. I also have Sirius in my truck, but do not have the Internet streaming option. I am looking for suggestions on how to keep up with the race using my smarty phone without paying a fee. Recap from my experience yesterday.

1. Last year I could get a stream of the race live, but that has been axed this year.

2. Someone on here posted in the race thread Harvick's in car. That was pretty good until he opened up a lead then not much to see and they stopped it with about 20 to go in stage 2.

3. The live timing and scoring would never load the drivers outside the top 5 or 6 on my Android.

4. Various Twitter folks were constantly putting updates out, so that helped some.

5. The message board here was good for getting various insights, but not the actual race...which I totally understand, that is not the purpose of the race thread.

6. Jayski originally posted an incorrect finish order, that I did not realize until much later.

We are now on the road until October and most of the time I will not be able to watch the tv broadcast.

Suggestions?

I just watch us Live Leaderboard on the NASCAR app when I want to check in on running order.

If you want extra features you will have to pay since NASCAR and the people who support the apps generally don't tend to work on a volunteer basis.

Aye, there's the rub. Is legality an issue?

Is a phone your only option? Live scoring from NASCAR's web site would display better on a tablet using the phone as a hot spot.
Legality? I have broken the law more than a few times in my life and generally don't mind doing so as long as it doesn't have a direct impact on others.