Newman and how he races?

hidesert cowboy

Team Owner
I think it might be said that Newman may have cost Matt D the race last night. When the leader has to crash into you to get by with a handful of laps to go to get by, how much driver etiquette is that? Matt D, lost half his lead getting by him, which was about 8 10/ths of a second. No one else raced Matt or denny that way in the closing laps. Kurt busch got totally out of the way as did jimmy. Kurt was racing to stay on the lead lap as well. My question is why aren't drivers just sick of this? Newman has long been known as the most difficult guy to pass and this is pretty clear watching all the races. It seems like no one races him back that way. Are they afraid Newman is going to beat them up? I personally would not take it if I was a driver being raced that way.

I have the same questions, and his BS is so old that it's embarrassing.

Newman has long been known as the most difficult guy to pass and this is pretty clear watching all the races. It seems like no one races him back that way.
Sounds like something the drivers can settle between themselves on the track. As you noted, he's always driven that way and spreads it around equally, and all the other drivers know it.

As to why the other drivers put up with it, it could be asked why the other drivers don't drive that way too.

Newman has always raced in a consistent manner, plus every point matters for him. I was cheering for MattD but Newman was fighting to stay on the lead lap, any driver would do that. Newman tries the get the most out of his car just like every driver who is competing for a playoff spot on points.

Denny Hamlin got by Newman just fine it seems.