TY dillon to drive no13 full time in 2017

MOORESVILLE, N.C. -- Beginning in 2017, Ty Dillon will take over full-time driving duties of the No. 13 GEICO Chevrolet SS in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series for Germain Racing. Dillon follows Casey Mears, a seasoned veteran who, over the last six years, has helped build Germain Racing's NASCAR Sprint Cup Series program into a viable organization that has garnered the respect and attention of NASCAR's elite.

The 24-year-old Dillon has made 17 starts in the Sprint Cup Series for several different teams, including Circle Sport/Leavine Family Racing and Stewart-Haas Racing. He scored a career-best sixth-place finish at Talladega Superspeedway in May 2016 while serving as a relief driver for Tony Stewart.

"I have been preparing for this next step in my career for several years," Dillon said. "With my experience in the Camping World Truck Series and XFINITY Series, I am ready to drive full-time in the Sprint Cup Series. I want to thank Bob Germain and the entire Germain Racing organization for giving me this opportunity. It will be an honor to represent a brand and sponsor like GEICO which has played such a significant role in the sport for so many years."

http://www.nascar.com/en_us/news-me...rmain-racing-no-13-replacing-casey-mears.html

Welp, so much for the Geico Rep having that special bond with Mears to keep Casey and Geico together. I reckon the bottom line trumps personal relationship :idunno: Unless Geico is staying with Casey in some other fashion.

Been a while since we complained about hats around here so here's a refresher.....

CyWz-npXgAET6An.jpg:large

Mears or Dillon/Childress?

Mears may have originally gotten a ride with the name but he lost that ride and has been with 33 making it on his own IMO. He took that car to places it never had been, like to the front. I do not see Dillon doing anything much. Again, JMO.