2018 Macau Grand Prix

2 time winner and going for the hat trick Peter Hickman takes the pole.8 time winner Michael Rutter fills out the front row.

The race starts tomorrow night and live streaming @11:55.00 PCT

Damn live feed took a **** in the middle of the race.:mad: Anyway, Hickman wins and makes it a hat trick a Macau. :punkrocke

Rutter finishes 2nd and Martin Jessopp finished 3rd.

Last edited:
Macau GP: Hickman takes third win in red-flagged race
Published: Today 09:57

Peter Hickman ended his 2018 international road racing season with yet another victory in a red flagged 52nd Macau Motorcycle Grand Prix.

Hickman’s team-mate Michael Rutter had got the better of the Isle of Man TT record holder off the line to lead in the early stages on his MotoGP-inspired RC213V-S, but taking his usual ‘steady away’ approach, Hickman was immediately on the back of Rutter as five bikes broke away at the front with Danny Webb, Gary Johnson and Martin Jessopp scrapping for the final podium spot.

Taking the lead with nine laps to go, Hickman began to pull away on his BMW S1000RR, maintaining his lead until red flags came out with three laps to go after an incident at Fisherman’s bend.

Former Grand Prix star Danny Webb wasn’t able to hold off a strong charge from PBM Ducati’s Martin Jessopp, who came through to complete the podium. Webb took fourth ahead of Gary Johnson, who is still riding injured after a big crash at the Brands Hatch BSB finale. Horst Saiger completed the top six.

Australia’s David Johnson took seventh on the PR Racing BMW ahead of Irishman Derek Sheils, who took eighth on the Penz BMW ahead of newcomer Davey Todd.

John McGuinness, making his superbike racing return at the notorious Guia circuit, completed the top ten on the second PBM Ducati.

Hickman who completed a clean sweep of victories at the international road races in 2018, having triumphed at the North West 200, Isle of Man TT and Ulster Grand Prix.

Hickman set a new absolute lap record at the TT in June at over 135mph and went on to finish fifth overall in the British Superbike Championship.

52nd Macau Grand Prix - Race Results

  1. Peter Hickman – Aspire by Ho Bathams Racing BMW
  2. Michael Rutter – Aspire by Ho Bathams Racing Honda
  3. Martin Jessopp – Tak Chun Group by PBM Ducati
  4. Danny Webb – MGM by Penz13 BMW
  5. Gary Johnson – Briggs Equipment Kawasaki
  6. Horst Saiger – Saiger Racing Yamaha
  7. David Johnson – PR Racing BMW
  8. Derek Sheils – MGM by Penz13 BMW
  9. Davey Todd – Penz13 BMW
  10. John McGuinness – Tak Chun by PBM Ducati
By Oli Rushby

Sports reporter covering British Superbikes, World Superbikes and road racing
What was the red flag about?
Top Bottom