Atwood in Arca Race with Evernham



Just thought this was interesting and that I'd pass it along:

Atwood entered in Pocono ARCA event

"Evernham Motorsports has entered Winston Cup driver Casey Atwood in next Saturday’s Pepsi 200 Automobile Racing Club of America series race at Pocono Raceway. Atwood will drive an Evernham Motorsports No. 19 Dodge.

Sammy Johns, who left his position as crew chief for Evernham Motorsports driver Jeremy Mayfield to become director of research and development with the team, will serve as Atwood’s crew chief in the race."

So apparently Atwood will be entered in an Arca race with his old team, his old crew chief, and with his old number. Wonder if there's anything more to this than meets the eye?
Maybe this is a "test" for Casey...Ray might be losing Faith in Casey therefore he is going to see if casey can Drive in another series. This event may be a proving ground for Casey...or maybe Ray just wants to see Casey do well for once.
I'd call that track time!A good move for Cassey!

I know the kid will do good in the near future!
he is really hurting this year........i hope it comes around for him
Since its at Pocono, I think its just a way to get Casey more seat time at the track, and hopefully some needed confidence.
Yup, track time.

A lot could be read in to it, but this is what, Dodge's 2nd or 3rd year back? Life at the top ain't easy. Not every youngin who comes along is going to post winning numbers from the gate, and the majority of folks who try their hand at Winston Cup never do get to the winner's circle.

No Wins Ever.... Some regular drivers in Winston Cup who have
never won a Cup race and how many starts they have:
Active Drivers
Driver, Races Run
Rick Mast - 364
Hut Stricklin - 323
Ted Musgrave - 299*
Dick Trickle - 270*
Kenny Wallace - 251*
Wally Dallenbach - 226*
Chad Little - 217*
Johnny Benson - 211
Robert Pressley - 205*
Mike Skinner - 185
Todd Bodine - 153
Steve Grissom - 149
Kevin Lepage - 126*
Mike Wallace - 112*
Dave Blaney - 93
Stacy Compton - 83
David Green - 78*
Jeff Green - 76
Casey Atwood - 56
Buckshot Jones - 54*
Ron Hornaday - 42*

And now the list since last Cup win....

Driver Races Run Last Win Track
Brett Bodine 380 4/22/90 North Wilkesboro
Ken Schrader 357 6/2/91 Dover
Derrike Cope 274* 6/3/90 Dover
Jimmy Spencer 255 7/24/94 Talladega
Kyle Petty 204 6/4/95 Dover
Geoffrey Bodine 126* 8/11/96 Watkins Glen
Terry Labonte 114 3/28/99 Texas
John Andretti 113 4/18/99 Martinsville
Jeremy Mayfield 64 6/19/00 Pocono
Jerry Nadeau 50 11/20/00 Atlanta
Elliott Sadler 48 3/25/01 Bristol
Bobby Hamilton 45 4/22/01 Talladega
Rusty Wallace 44 4/29/01 California
Jeff Gordon 26 9/30/01 Kansas City
Top Bottom