message sent by not dumping hamlin

hidesert cowboy

Team Owner
on the last lap of the race. I was thinking to myself that if I was joey I would dump hamlin if he got to the outside or at least hit him hard enough in the quarter panel to leave no chance of winning the race. Joey could have just said that he took away our chance to win at bristol. IMO joey threw away a race win by trying to race fair and square. If I am a fellow driver I know darn well that joey does not scare me and when and if the chips are down if I lean on joey there will be no repercussions. Joey to me said that he is unwilling to defend himself on the race track. If I was roger I would tell him dude don't put up with crap on the race track. the last lap was perfect time for pay back.

Perfect time for pay back, and Joey risking taking himself out too, and then Joey having no shot at the win. How would that have worked out for Joey?

Yes, I know thats what happened anyways, but at least it wasn't due to stupidity of worrying about taking out another driver instead of winning the race. Joey would have plenty of times to try to dump Denny. The last couple laps while racing for a win isn't the time to do it.

Same message can be sent without dumping the guy .Race him hard, take away his line , block him, take the air off his car , crowd him up into the wall . Guys like Montoya , Stewart , Newman , Kyle and Kurt , they all do it . When you try to go by them for the win , you tighten your belts.