Speedway Motorsports goes Private

This was rumored several months ago, I guess they're just now finalizing the details. Word is they go private so they can better move race dates around without a board to approve it.

So they offered $18 and wound up at $19.75? That's not a bad mark-up. The family was probably expecting $20 all along.

That reminds me, we haven't heard anything lately on the NASCAR takeover of ISC.

Last edited:
$19.75 a share..... Hmm..... It sure beats the price of a seat @ Bristol. Maybe they should offer free shares with the purchase of a Bristol Night Race Ticket?

That reminds me, we haven't heard anything lately on the NASCAR takeover of ISC.
That depends upon your definition of "lately." A couple weeks ago it was posted here that routine SEC filings seeking regulatory approval have been submitted to the SEC. (I'm no expert, but SEC objections on anti-trust or other grounds would be a real shocker in this tiny corner of the U.S. business landscape.) Before that, we've had posts about shareholders voting approval and about the France Family securing financing to complete the deal. So, it's on track, basically a "done deal."

Yeah I think ISC is a done deal also waiting approval. So hmmm do they merge, start changing things on the fly because they can? Hasn't seemed to stop them before when they had stockholders to satisfy. Penske seems to think it is a big deal and is all for it. It could get interesting.

That depends upon your definition of "lately." A couple weeks ago it was posted here that routine SEC filings seeking regulatory approval have been submitted to the SEC. (I'm no expert, but SEC objections on anti-trust or other grounds would be a real shocker in this tiny corner of the U.S. business landscape.) Before that, we've had posts about shareholders voting approval and about the France Family securing financing to complete the deal. So, it's on track, basically a "done deal."