Starter Car

Y

yeppertea

I am pretty new to working on cars.
I was wondering what a great starter car is; or what to look for in a car to build up on.
Some tips and details on parts and building would be greatly appreciated.
So if you were to have $3000, what would you get or look for in a car?

I am pretty new to working on cars.
I was wondering what a great starter car is; or what to look for in a car to build up on.
Some tips and details on parts and building would be greatly appreciated.
So if you were to have $3000, what would you get or look for in a car?

What are you looking to run? UCAR might be right down your alley.

I was thinking a 1980 Mazda RX7. But how hard is it to find nice parts for it? Is it much harder for older cars?

More info needed.
Are you building a race car, if so will be oval, dirt, asphalt, or drag? Whatever the case you also need to provide the class or division.
Based on your question I am thinking you are wanting a street car.
It is a good thing to get info, but it is almost like picking a girlfriend, beauty is in the eye of the beholder, your avoids and must haves should be based on your own individual taste.

Also realize a 50 year old guy like me is usually is going to have a different definition of classic cars. Personally almost any two door Chevy built before 68, with a V8 could work. If I was going to build a keeper, I would have a primary and a junker with a decent body, in the event of a fender bender. Small block Chevy engines are usually easier to find, and provide the most bang for the buck.

If you pursue anything built prior to 1966, check out the jalopy journal (hamb) website.
If you want to do a foreign car which is understandable for someone younger, I still wish you the best.

I was wanting something street car worthy but gets off the quickest. But I also want a little style.

$3000 is not going to get you into a race car.