MRN Radio app..... Gone?

dpkimmel2001

Team Owner
Joined
Apr 1, 2009
Messages
34,446
Points
1,033
Location
Western PA
I got a new phone last December. I just went to download the MRN Radio app and no longer see it as an option. I'm going to be traveling during the race Sunday and I'd like to find a MRN source that I can listen to over my phone so I don't have to keep searching for channels as I drive. If anyone knows of a decent app or other source to listen to the race, please post it here. And yes, I know Sirius is an option but I don't feel like paying for that anymore.
 

ChexOrWrex

Ya gotta wanna
Joined
May 19, 2013
Messages
21,584
Points
883
Doesn’t MRN’s website have the live broadcast on during races?
 

dpkimmel2001

Team Owner
Joined
Apr 1, 2009
Messages
34,446
Points
1,033
Location
Western PA
Doesn’t MRN’s website have the live broadcast on during races?
They always have in the past but I no longer see the option. The 'Listen Live' button is normally available all the time on their site but is inactive during non broadcasting times.
 

kkfan91

Taking a 10-200
Joined
Jun 13, 2009
Messages
15,018
Points
1,033
Location
PA
They got rid of the app last year I'm not sure why, you can still listen on the web I did during the clash
 

dpkimmel2001

Team Owner
Joined
Apr 1, 2009
Messages
34,446
Points
1,033
Location
Western PA
They got rid of the app last year I'm not sure why, you can still listen on the web I did during the clash
So the link should become available just around race time? Thanks for the info I hate trying to chase stations when I'm driving long distances. Will be driving across i80 in PA, East to West on Sunday afternoon. MRN stations are few and far between in North Eastern PA.
 

kkfan91

Taking a 10-200
Joined
Jun 13, 2009
Messages
15,018
Points
1,033
Location
PA
So the link should become available just around race time? Thanks for the info I hate trying to chase stations when I'm driving long distances. Will be driving across i80 in PA, East to West on Sunday afternoon. MRN stations are few and far between in North Eastern PA.
Yeah our only MRN affiliate is out of Delaware, they dont do the PRN races or if something is happening in UD sports
 

KodiakRusty89

Team Owner
Joined
Jun 8, 2016
Messages
2,346
Points
323
I've got 3 or 4 affiliates out on the Western side of the state. Hard to believe that the Pocono region is one of the worst areas to pick up a Nascar race in our state.
I live in the Scranton area which is basically the "Pocono region" and I can no longer find MRN on the radio.
 

dpkimmel2001

Team Owner
Joined
Apr 1, 2009
Messages
34,446
Points
1,033
Location
Western PA
I live in the Scranton area which is basically the "Pocono region" and I can no longer find MRN on the radio.
Yeah, I looked up their PA list this morning and saw nothing there.

I used to always rely on the MRN or PRN apps when traveling. Before that, Sirius. And before that XM radio.
 

MikeInIllinois

Team Owner
Joined
Mar 31, 2014
Messages
382
Points
223
Depending on what gadget you have (I have an iPhone). I went to mrn.com on my phone's browser and clicked "Live"....right now they're doing Cup practice, if you want to test it out.
 

dpkimmel2001

Team Owner
Joined
Apr 1, 2009
Messages
34,446
Points
1,033
Location
Western PA
A little mrn.com online while traveling listening review.

While it was great that we were able to take in the beginning of the race using their website, we found that the service seems to cut out after about 15 minutes of listening. I had to reload the web page and restart the online listening. I know it wasn't loss of signal as we travel that route often and never lose signal from one side of the state to the other. The only other downfall was that their website had to remain the active screen or audio is cut off. Overall though, it was good as it provided us with a decent feed to be able to listen to the race which wouldn't have been possible otherwise.
 

gnomesayin

Team Owner
Joined
Oct 14, 2013
Messages
6,090
Points
793
Try one of the radio apps mentioned earlier, and you shouldn't have that problem with needing to keep a browser window active.
 
Top Bottom