You Got To Be Chitting Me

Same thing happened there last year. You'd think people would get the message and pay the fee wouldn't you?

Residents in the city of South Fulton receive the service automatically, but it is not extended to those living in the greater county-wide area.

So South Fulton has to respond to the fires but only a portion of their response area has to pay the fee?

It's a bull**** fee.

now you're a lawyer
\

Local and state politics is what I cover for a living. The city imposing a tax to residents outside the city limits is, well, bizarre. Not many people pay attention to local politics, I'd be interested in what happened if someone legally challenged this.

I mean, emergency response is included in your taxes already -- makes no sense to pay $75 more if you live in a certain area to cover what you already pay for in taxes anyways.

This was on one of the cable news shows when the first house burnt a year + ago. Outside of the city limits you're not paying city taxes. Ergo,lawyer speak, not entitled to city services. See? Easy peasy.

I grew up in a small fishing town, no town rescue squad or ambulance. Vol FF. There was a private company, $25 a year otherwise you made your own way to the hospital. 49 square miles patroled by 2 police cars, '53 Fords IIRC, and neither had a radio. Cops would knock on your door to use the phone, if you hadf a phone. :) NO CHIT!

I have the feeling this town today is very similar to what mine was 55-60 years ago.

Ya know, it really wasn't all that bad...

This was on one of the cable news shows when the first house burnt a year + ago. Outside of the city limits you're not paying city taxes. Ergo,lawyer speak, not entitled to city services. See? Easy peasy.