What exactly was better about NASCAR back in the day, and why was that way better?

LewTheShoe

Seeking Skill-based Meritocracy... More HP Less DF
The vibe around here has been brutally negative this off-season and I am genuinely interested to understand why. So explain to me like I'm a newbie what was better about Nascar 20 or 30 or 50 years ago, in your opinion. Why was that better? And is it something that Nascar could change if it wanted to, or natural evolution beyond the sport's ability to control?

One thing I liked about the 1970s and 80s is that the bodywork was tougher and more able to withstand light contact without loss of performance. A little beating and banging, or lightly brushing the wall was no big deal. I believe we could go back in that direction and racing would be better if we did.

Another thing I liked about the early days of Nascar was that it was more of a cottage industry, with many small teams competing and less domination by the big guys. It created more diversity and innovation. But that was always destined to change IMO. A job worth doing is worth doing well. Survival of the fittest is a natural evolution that cannot be thwarted. We should complain about things that can be controlled, and accept those that can't, IMO.

I thought the racing was great in the 90s and early 2000s. Now, if you make even the slightest contact on a racetrack, you're out of the race because of the aerodynamic crap and how sensitive the cars are. Even ****** IndyCars, which are aerodynamic cars by design, aren't as sensitive as this Gen-6 car.

I keep hearing how good the racing was in the 60s and 70s but I look at the results pages on Racing-Reference and they paint a different picture. Don't get me wrong, I love short tracks and think running more of them would fix A LOT of problems in Cup, but there is way more parity in today's NASCAR. Although, that parity, which is the one big positive, is quickly disappearing as well with this new car.